Divided by languages, United by India!


I was born and brought up in Calcutta, in a bi-lingual household. My father’s side of the family spoke Urdu while on my mother’s side the language spoken was Tamil. Staying in Calcutta, naturally I heard a lot of Bengali, Bhojpuri and Odia while growing up. My first friend in life was a boy called Preet Singh. Playing at his house meant hearing a lot of Punjabi being spoken.

I studied in an English medium school. Friends would speak in Hindi but with teachers we had to speak in English. Come 21 I landed up in Bangalore, where Kannada was the spoken language of the land. Joined advertising and made many Malyalam speaking friends. Got some friends who spoke Marathi and Gujarati as well. My girlfriend comes from a family that speaks Telugu. And not to forget in the course of my small life I’ve come across people who speak Nepali, Konkani and even Tulu.

The point is that my India is not defined by one single language. It’s a country of many languages. Yes Hindi works in most parts of our country. But it doesn’t unify the country contrary to what the government would have you believe. What unifies us is the fact that in spite of so many language we are all, Indian.

I have nothing against Hindi. In fact it’s a language I speak the most. One of my most favorite genres of music is Hindi Bollywood music. But I do have a problem with a certain sect of people intent on dividing this country. The forces of power today who want to create differences to push their own personal agendas.

Growing up and still, I am proud of the fact that my country, India celebrates diversity. Of the 183 odd countries we have in this world I bet no other country has what we have, i.e. the power of being so different yet being one.

What we are witnessing now is the blatant push of ideology of a very small sect of people who are attempting to divert attention from more pressing matters.

I implore each sane minded Indian to take cognizance of the fact that the actions of the forces in power today are reminiscent of our colonial masters.

They are trying to divide in the name of unity. But true unity lies in identifying and accepting our diversity. The diversity that defines my India and gives it her unique identity. No matter which part of the country we come from or what language we speak this diversity allows all us Indians to say that this is my India.

P.S. If we really need one language to unite us all, suggest we all learn the language of Humanity. God knows we are all in desperate need of it.

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑